Koyama Press Announces its Spring 2016 Lineup

Tired of comics that thrive on hype, but are low on substance? Or happy with your 4-color punch-ups, but want some quality comics to balance them out? Koyama Press might be your jam.

Koyama Press is an independent publishing house established in 2007 with a mandate:

“to promote and support a wide range of emerging and established artists. Projects include comics, art books and zines.”

Some of the more established artists Koyama has published include Dustin Harbin, Michael DeForge, Renee French, Chris Eliopoulos, Julia Wertz, and Joseph Lambert — but a peek at Koyama’s artists’ page shows those talented storytellers are just the tip of the iceberg.

Koyama Press has just announced its Spring 2016 lineup, and those books are as diverse and creative as ever — including one about genitalia and another that’s actually for kids. Like we said: diverse.

The new announced books are:

What is Obscenity? The Story of a Good For Nothing Artist and her Pussy, by Rokudenashiko


Don’t Come in Here by Patrick Kyle


Gorgeous by Cathy G. Johnson


After Nothing Comes by Aidan Koch


Night Air by Ben Sears (this is the one intended for an all-ages audience).


You might also like a piece we did about Creator Owned Comics, or if you just want to branch out and get away from the big two check out Scoot’s Pull Lists for some ideas. Or if you’re a fan of Valiant, check out their film plans.

Images: Koyama Press

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.