Zatanna: The Subject Of New Kickstarter Fan Film

Warner Bros. and DC Comics have given fans a look into the future of their slate of superhero blockbusters. Sadly though, none of the mystical members of the DC Comics universe were mentioned as part of those announcements. But now, movie writer/director Theo Brown is looking to rectify this by producing his own fan film take on everyone’s favorite magician Zatanna Zatara. A regular ally of Batman and member of the Justice League Dark, she is one of DC’s most popular female characters.

The project’s Kickstarter page has a final funding goal of $36,000 that must be reached by November 15, 2014. For those financial supporters who throw a few bucks into this superhero origin story, you can expect to receive some awesome perks. Everything from a shout out on the film’s Twitter page to an exclusive hangout session on the set of the film, perhaps with Shannon Hollander, the actress set to play the famous magician.

Theo Brown made sure to explain his passion as a filmmaker and his unbridled appreciation for Zatanna’s backstory:

“I’m a filmmaker by trade and a comic book fan since birth. My two huge passions in life combined in making Zatanna. I also wrote the script for Zatanna, so I want to be sure that this project is the best that it can possibly be. I’m super excited about this project and the opportunity to give one of my favorite characters her chance to shine! While Zatanna is my first comic book film, I’ve been working on movies for the past seven years. As both a writer and a director, I love getting to dive into a character’s world and craft a story out of it. Professionally, I’ve worked with a range of companies, from filming a documentary in India with a NGO to working with NASA with their recruitment team to being on set for various TV commercials. With my own personal projects, I’ve had some films screen in film festivals across the country. I know the process of film production and can promise the utmost professional ability, transparency, and dependency.”

Zatanna

Zatanna has been featured in several DC TV shows and animated series such as Smallville, Young Justice and Batman: The Animated Series. It’s about time she got to dole out her backwards magic in a solo film endeavor. Let’s hope that Justice League Dark film actually happens…

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1709525433/zatanna-a-fan-film/widget/card.html?v=2

Images: DC Comics, Kickstarter

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.